March 30, 2017

March 30, 2017

TO bring the arts closer to government workers, farmers, senior citizens and women in the local communities, the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) Outreach Program will present special performances of CCP resident companies from April to May 2017.

Billed as “Art in the Workplace” (AIWP) (Sining sa Tanggapan), the project advocates the vital role that art plays in national and community development.  The one hour program will showcase the artistic excellence of the Filipino artists along with talents from the communities that will be visited. It will be presented as a living proof that art exists and flourishes in various workplaces and contributes to the enhancement of the work environment.  The performance will be complemented with an interaction between the artists and the audience to discuss the insights about the performance and its social relevance.

From 2012 – 2016, AIWP has reached more than 4,000 local government unit workers and leaders.  The project has been implemented at the Department of Budget and Management, Armed Forces of the Philippines, Commission on Audit, Department of Finance, Department of Science and Technology, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority, Office of the Ombudsman, Bureau of Customs, National Historical Commission of the Philippines, Career Executive Service Board, National Parks Development Committee, Philippine Coast Guard and Landbank of the Philippines.

For 2017, the AIWP will present the Bayanihan Philippine National Folk Dance Company,  Philippine Ballet Theater, UST Symphony Orchestra, and Ballet Philippines in the following communities: Biñan City-Laguna (April 4), San Pedro City-Laguna (April 7), RITM-Alabang (April 21), and Batangas City (May 18).

AIWP is presented in cooperation with the City Government of Binan and San Pedro in Laguna, the City Government of Batangas and the Research Institute for Tropical Medicine in Alabang.

For more information, contact the CCP Cultural Exchange Department at tel. no. 832-1125 locals 1708-1709.