October 18, 2018

October 18, 2018

THE Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) opened the 2018 Thirteen Artists Awards (TAA) exhibit alongside a formal awarding ceremony on October 18, 2018, at 6pm. Since 1970, the TAA has been said to foster, promote, and usher in new forms of contemporary art. For the past 16 iterations of the award, a total of 185 artists have been given this critical recognition. The 2018 Thirteen Artists awardees are Zeus Bascon, Bea Camacho, Cian Dayrit, Janos Delacruz, Doktor Karayom, Carlo Gabuco, Dina Gadia, Guerredro Z. Habulan, Eisa Jocson, Raffy T. Napay, Archie Oclos, Lynyrd Paras and Shireen Seno.

This year’s exhibition is curated by Ronald Achacoso, a past TAA awardee (2000). The roster of awardees represents a wide range of artistic practice, including artists dealing with print, dance, film, and photography alongside painting, performance, and sculpture. Their new work will be seen for the first time at the Bulwagang Juan Luna (Main Gallery), Pasilyo Guillermo Tolentino (3F Hallway), and Pasilyo Vicente Manansala (2F Hallway). This year also marks the first year of outdoor TAA interventions, with works installed on the CCP Power House and the Pasay side lawn. The formal recognition of winners will take place in the Main Theatre Lobby, and each awardee will receive a trophy designed by past TAA awardee (2003) Eric Zamuco.

The TAA is administered by the CCP Visual Arts and Museum Division (VAMD) under the Production and Exhibition Department. Nominations were received from museum directors, independent curators, heads of art and cultural organizations, gallerists, and former TAA awardees. From the 59 nominated artists, 58 qualified and 5 artists did not submit their portfolios. This year’s panel of jurors included past TAA winners Ofelia Gelvezon-Tequi (1972), Leonilo Doloricon, (1990), Noel Cuizon (1994), Yasmin Sison-Ching (2006), with Rica Estrada, Officer-in-Charge of the VAMD, representing the CCP.

The TAA exhibition is on view at Bulwagang Juan Luna (Main Gallery), Pasilyo Guillermo Tolentino (3F Hallway), Pasilyo Vicente Manansala (2F Hallway), CCP Power House, and the Pasay side lawn from October 18, 2018 to December 23, 2018.

For details, contact the CCP Visual Arts and Museum via email at (ccp.exhibits@gmail.com).